The Waterworks Museum prides itself on telling important stories not just about Hereford, but also of the county’s market towns. A fine example of this can be seen at the 2017 Gala Day with the opening of a new exhibit that has recreated the Edwardian water pumping system that served Ledbury.
The Lineshaft from the original installation at Massington Pumping Station had lain in the garden of Massington Lodge for many decades before it was offered to the Museum for restoration. About the same time, Grampian Transport Museum donated a 1920’s Wilson Oil Engine. This is a rare surviving example of its kind, but it was incomplete and in very poor condition as for many years it had lain derelict at Dyce Airport, near Aberdeen. Restoring these artefacts to working order has been a major engineering challenge, one that took 5-years to complete - a testament to the skills and dedication of the Museum’s Volunteer Engineers.
Chairman of the Museum, Richard Curtis, is pleased to announce that on Sunday 30th July, Councillor Sharon Michael, Mayor of Hereford, will visit the Waterworks Museum as guest of honour to open this important new exhibit.
Situated near the banks of the River Wye at Broomy Hill, the Waterworks Museum offers free parking and picnic areas and will be open and in-steam from 12.00pm onwards, with Mayor's visit at 2.00pm. On this festive day, a cavalcade of vintage and interesting vehicles and performances by Hereford Concert Band will entertain visitors. The children’s Heritage Water Park will also be open throughout the day for the pleasure of all visitors.